Wayne Taylor Racing Qualifying Report

Brickyard Grand Prix

Date: July 24, 2014
Event: Brickyard Grand Prix (Round 8 of 11)
Series: Prototype division of the Tudor United SportsCar Championship
Location: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2.439-mile, 14-turn road course)
Pole Winner: Ryan Dalziel of Extreme Speed Motorsports (1:17.603 at 113.145 mph)
Wayne Taylor Racing: 7th by Jordan Taylor (1:18.592 at 111.721 mph)

The No. 10 Konica Minolta Chevrolet Corvette Dallara Daytona Prototype for Wayne Taylor Racing (WTR) will start Friday’s Tudor United SportsCar Championship Brickyard Grand Prix from the inside of the fourth row after qualifying Thursday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Jordan Taylor, who with his older brother and co-driver Ricky Taylor leads the Tudor series standings, turned a fast lap of 1 minute, 18.592 seconds at 111.721 mph around the legendary speedway’s 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course. It was good for seventh among 48 car-and-driver combinations entered for Friday’s two-hour, 45-minute race.

“It’s probably about what we expected,” said Jordan Taylor, last year’s polesitter here who handled the qualifying duties for only the second time in eight races this year. “We weren’t fastest in practice. We tried some stuff for qualifying and I think we learned a good bit. But we still have some room for improvement. We’ve always raced better this year than we’ve qualified and practiced, so I’m not worried, yet. It’s frustrating, but you can only score points on race day, but we can’t be too frustrated.”

Taylor qualified fifth for the May 31 Chevrolet Sports Car Classic on the Streets of Belle Isle in downtown Detroit, where he and his brother co-drove to the team’s first victory of 2014.

The top-five qualifiers for Friday’s Brickyard Grand Prix are:

1. Extreme Speed Motorsports (No. 1 HPD ARX-03b) with Ryan Dalziel and Scott Sharp (1:17.603 at 113.145 mph).

2. Extreme Speed Motorsports (No. 2 HPD ARX-03b) with Johannes van Overbeek and Ed Brown (1:17.879 at 112.744 mph).

3. OAK Racing (No. 42 Nissan Morgan) with Gustavo Yacaman and Ho Pin Tung (1:17.908 at 112.702 mph).

4. Action Express Racing (No. 5 Corvette DP) with Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa (1:18.102 at 112.422 mph).

5. Spirit of Daytona Racing (No. 90 Corvette DP) with Richard Westbrook and Michael Valiante (1:18.188 at 112.299 mph).

Race time is 5:36 p.m. EDT Friday with live television provided by FOX Sports 1 beginning at 5:30 p.m. Live radio by the Motor Racing Network (MRN) will be streamed at IMSA.com, and MRNRadio.com, as well as select MRN affiliates beginning at 5:15 p.m. Check local listings. Live timing and scoring during all on-track sessions can be found at IMSA.com and via the IMSA smartphone app.