Wayne Taylor Racing Qualifying Report

Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix

Date: July 12, 2014
Event: Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix (Round 7 of 11)
Series: Prototype division of the Tudor United SportsCar Championship
Location: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario (2.459-mile, 10-turn road course)
Pole Winner: Gustavo Yacaman of OAK Racing (1:09.167 at 127.196 mph)
Wayne Taylor Racing: 6th by Ricky Taylor (1:10.336 at 125.859 mph)

The No. 10 Konica Minolta Chevrolet Corvette Dallara Daytona Prototype for Wayne Taylor Racing (WTR) will start Sunday’s Tudor United SportsCar Championship Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix from the outside of the third row for the second race in a row after qualifying Saturday at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park in Bowmanville, Ontario.

Ricky Taylor, who leads the Tudor series standings along with his younger brother and full-time co-driver Jordan Taylor, turned a fast lap of 1 minute, 10.336 seconds at 125.859 mph around the 2.459-mile, 10-turn road course about 90 minutes north and east of Toronto. It was good for sixth among 40 car-and-driver combinations entered for Sunday’s two-hour, 45-minute race.

“We couldn’t expect much more,” said Taylor, who qualified sixth two weekends ago for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of The Glen at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International. “The P2s had pace all weekend. We were really fighting for fourth the whole weekend long and I think we will be tomorrow, as well. We improved the car. We got closer to the other DPs, at least. The car was difficult in qualifying, but it was fast. I just made a little mistake on some of my best laps. I was pushing really hard. I think tomorrow it is going to rain, anyway, so we are going to sit back and maybe throw everything out the window and try and make a good racecar for tomorrow.”

The top-five qualifiers for Sunday’s Mobil 1 SportsCar Grand Prix are:

1. OAK Racing (No. 42 Nissan Morgan) with Gustavo Yacaman and Olivier Pla (1:09.167 at 127.196 mph).

2. Extreme Speed Motorsports (No. 1 HPD ARX-03b) with Ryan Dalziel and Scott Sharp (1:09.456 at 127.453 mph).

3. Spirit of Daytona Racing (No. 90 Corvette DP) with Richard Westbrook and Michael Valiante (1:09.642 at 127.113 mph).

4. Extreme Speed Motorsports (No. 2 HPD ARX-03b) with Johannes van Overbeek and Ed Brown (1:10.136 at 126.218 mph).

5. Action Express Racing (No. 5 Corvette DP) with Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa (1:10.298 at 125.927 mph).

Race time is 2:05 p.m. EDT Sunday with live television provided by FOX Sports 1 beginning at 2 p.m. Live radio by the Motor Racing Network (MRN) will be streamed at IMSA.com, and MRNRadio.com, as well as select MRN affiliates beginning at 1:45 p.m. Check local listings. Live timing and scoring during all on-track sessions can be found at IMSA.com and via the IMSA smartphone app.