Wayne Taylor Racing Qualifying Report

63rd Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring

Date: March 20, 2015
Event: 63rd Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring (Round 2 of 10)
Series: Prototype division of the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship
Location: Sebring (Fla.) International Raceway (3.74-mile, 17-turn road course)
Pole Winner: Olivier Pla of Krohn Racing (1:51.152 at 121.131 mph)
Wayne Taylor Racing: 7th by Ricky Taylor (1:52.720 at 119.446 mph)

The No. 10 Konica Minolta Corvette DP for Wayne Taylor Racing will start Saturday’s 63rd annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring from the inside of the fourth row after TUDOR United SportsCar Championship qualifying Friday afternoon at Sebring (Fla.) International Raceway.

Ricky Taylor, continuing his second full season co-driving with his younger brother Jordan Taylor and joined once again this weekend by third driver Max “The Ax” Angelelli, turned a fast lap of 1 minute, 52.720 seconds at 119.446 mph around the 3.74-mile, 17-turn Sebring road circuit. It was good for seventh among 46 car-and-driver combinations that will take the green flag Saturday for the legendary 12-hour endurance marathon.

“I think the bottom line is we’ll be alright in the race tomorrow and that’s all that really matters, when you get down to it,” said Taylor, who qualified third here last year in his first-ever Sebring 12-hour and went on to finish seventh alongside his brother and Angelelli. “We’ve been working our way through a brake issue here this weekend and we seem to be moving in the right direction. That’s a good thing. The track conditions were quite different in that qualifying session than they’ve been the last two days, so we definitely learned a lot there. All in all, I think our team knows what it takes to get us to the end at the front. It’s just going to be a matter of going out there and getting it done.”

The top-five qualifiers for Saturday’s 63rd Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring are:

1. Krohn Racing (No. 57 Honda Ligier JS P2) with Olivier Pla, Nic Jonsson, Tracy Krohn (1:51.152 at 121.131 mph).

2. Tequila Patron ESM (No. 1 Honda HPD ARX) with Ryan Dalziel, Scott Sharp, David Heinemeier Hansson (1:51.466 at 120.802 mph).

3. Action Express Racing (No. 5 Corvette DP) with Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi, Sebastien Bourdais (1:52.128 at 120.077 mph).

4. Michael Shank Racing (No. 60 Judd Ligier JS P2) with Oswaldo Negri, John Pew, Justin Wilson (1:52.170 at 120.032 mph).

5. Action Express Racing (No. 31 Corvette DP) with Dane Cameron, Eric Curran, Max Papis (1:52.490 at 119.691 mph).

Race time is 10:40 a.m. EDT Saturday with the FOX Sports 1 kicking off the TV broadcast with two hours of coverage beginning at 10:30. FOX Sports 2 will carry the 12:30 to 7 p.m. segment, as well as the race’s conclusion and post-race festivities from 10 to 11 p.m. The 7 to 10 p.m. segment will be streamed live via IMSA TV at IMSA.com. Live timing and scoring during all on-track sessions is available at IMSA.com and the IMSA smartphone app.