31st Motorsports Hall of Fame

31st Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America Induction Ceremony Presented by Firestone a Summit of Racing Heads of State 

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 11, 2019) – The 31st Annual Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) Induction Ceremony Presented by Firestone, Tuesday March 12, will be a high-level summit of motorsports executives as the industry’s brain trust and other notables from the world of racing gather to honor the Class of 2019 inductees at the Shores Resort and Spa Hotel.
This year’s honorees include automotive and racing pioneer Augie Duesenberg (Historic), three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti (Open Wheel), engineering genius Phil Remington (Sports Cars), motorcycle road racing world champion Kevin Schwantz (Motorcycles), championship-winning driver/owners Don Schumacher (Drag Racing) and Tony Stewart (Stock Cars) and popular motorsports ambassador Linda Vaughn (At Large).
Two of the world’s foremost racing leaders are taking part in the induction ceremony itself. Chase Carey, Formula One Group CEO and Executive Chairman, is presiding over the event as Honorary Chairman. Doug Boles (pictured bottom), President of the famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway, is presenting Duesenberg for enshrinement.
The host track, and home of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America and Museum, Daytona International Speedway (DIS), will be represented at the induction events by DIS President Chip Wile. Induction 2019 marks the fourth year the ceremony has taken place in Daytona Beach in step with the MSHFA’s move to DIS in 2016, from Michigan. The Hall is housed in the speedway’s Ticket and Tours Building located in front of the famed 2.5 DIS tri-oval.
In addition to those taking part in the ceremony, leaders of most of racing’s premier sanctioning bodies will be attending, including:
* Scott Atherton (pictured middle), President and COO of IMSA
* Brian Carter, CEO and CFO of World Racing Group, which runs DIRTcar
* Michael Cobb, President and CEO of SCCA
* Glen Cromwell, President of the NHRA
* Mike Helton (pictured top), Vice Chairman of the Board of NASCAR
* Michael Lock, CEO of AMA Pro Racing
* George Silbermann, President of the Automobile Competition Committee of the United States (ACCUS-FIA), an association of American auto racing sanctioning bodies (IMSA, IndyCar, NASCAR, NHRA, SCCA, USAC).
The MSHFA Museum is the site of tonight’s annual Heroes of Horsepower Reception where the seven new inductees’ bronze busts that will be displayed permanently in the Hall are unveiled.
On Tuesday at 9:30 a.m., the annual Inductee Breakfast Presented by Toyota will be held in the Rolex 24 Lounge in the speedway’s stadium grandstands.
Tickets for all events on Monday and Tuesday are available by visiting www.MSHF.com or by calling (386) 681-6843.
About the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America: The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) conducted its first induction ceremony in 1989; the facility was located in Novi, Mich., from 1989 through 2015 and relocated to Daytona Beach, Fla, in 2016. The MSHFA is the only hall of fame that encompasses the full spectrum of American motorsports: cars, motorcycles, off-road, powerboats and airplanes. The overriding mission of the MSHFA is to celebrate and instill the American core values of leadership, creativity, originality, teamwork and spirit of competition embodied in motorsports. The MSHFA is operated by the non-profit Motorsports Museum and Hall of Fame of America Foundation, Inc.